Temporary WAN Shut Down: The world still working but not you.

Temporary WAN Shut Down: The world still working but not you.

ยท

5 min read

How it started?

So, I was reading this post on Twitter where a coder asked the community, "what will you do if your internet is shut down for a week?" A lot of people replied that they would go on a trip or read a book or follow their hobbies. And I thought of answering that question too but couldn't think of something interesting cause I have nothing but to study for my exams (as I haven't touched my books yet ๐Ÿ˜†).

But a few days back, the internet really got SHUT DOWN due to the farmer's protest. So I decided to write about my experience on that.

My Experience

We all dream of doing different things when we get a bit of free time or get relaxation from a particular work. But have you ever thought that the free time you get will only be for you and not for the rest of the world? (I would say that this article is not based on an adult's experience as I am not one too. So if don't find this article relating please don't get offended๐Ÿ™)

This was what happened to me. Yes, I got plenty of free time no doubt and luckily my wifi stopped working too so yeah no internet at all butttt I was the only one around my neighborhood with this no internet situation (cause others had their wifi working).

How I spend my days

For the first day, I did read a book (not the college ones) and did my regular stuff but the next day I realized that I have no one in my area to go out for a walk or something, as I was the only one not attending the classes ๐Ÿ™ƒ so, can't even stay at others home for fun, even all of my notes and learning stuff were on the cloud too and I got no internet to access them and yeah due to covid and the protest I can't even go out as roads were blocked too.

That day I thought (well, yeah we can say that this was a special situation due to the farmers and covid) that even if you are off from your regular schedule you can't do much good, as the rest of the world(kids) is still working.

The problem

I mean really, how long can you keep reading a book or take a sunbathe or listen to your songs or watch TV or keep cooking? For 2 to 4 hours max? You can't even talk to your friends as they are busy in their classes and homework later.

And that's even when you have a really bad habit of keeping yourself busy (mostly in coding) the whole day, and yeah you can't even code as you got stuck on a bug and even the tasks for the project are saved in GitHub readme file too.

Results

But one good thing that happened to me was that getting away from the regular schedule helps in getting a way lot of new ideas for your work. And makes you work with more enthusiasm (if you love your work not the other way around).

Dopamine detox tastes bitter but is good for your health too๐Ÿ˜›.

ย